March 5, 2011

  • Mom got a kidney.  I know, that sounds so matter or fact.  We got the call Tuesday morning that Mom should prepare herself for a possible kidney transplant at UCLA.  It’s coming from Pennsylvania.  The deceased donor was a 2 year old boy who died of a cardiac arrest from contracting H1N1.  Though it felt like a miracle we were getting a kidney in such a short time from from being on the national waiting list, I felt a tear roll down my cheek.  Then another one followed.  And another.  I felt excited and scared all at once.  At the same time my heart was aching for the family.  I can’t help feeling guilty that I was relieved my mom was about to get a kidney and didn’t need to get dialysis, and she wasn’t going to be feeling so sick anymore.  But our gain was someone elses loss.  I know things happen for a reason, and everyone has their path in life.  But it’s still hard to just accept it as it was meant to be.  I’ve whispered a thousand “thank yous” and said a hundred prayers for their gift of love.  I pray God will help them find peace.

     

Comments (3)

  • Not gonna lie, this brought tears to my eyes.  I totally can see where you are coming from in being conflicted!  Your mother gets a new shot at life (yay!!!) while you know that another family is going through an excruciating time.  I also will pray that they find peace and comfort that their son will live on again in your Mom.

    Ack!  Welling up in tears now.   God bless everyone who signs a donor card.

  • @Elewen - thank you, elewen.  I know, it’s always hard to imagine ever losing a child.  But what they did is an amazing thing, and we’re very blessed.

  • It won’t have effect in actual fact, that’s what I suppose. link 8 _ 3 site 9. Thank you for the post, pretty helpful info. link 5 check 2 site 4. Goodness, there is a lot of effective info in this post! website 7 website 2 website 9. Hey, there’s really much effective information above!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *