April 5, 2007

  • Pumping it up.


     


    I was so tired I passed out at 8:30 tonight when I got home.  Then Irvine Boy called me at around midnight to say good night.  Hearing the phone in my sleep, for a split second I was totally confused…I thought it was morning and I was late for work.


     


    Nothing interesting today except my whole lower body hurts.  My trainer made me pound away at the weights today.  Don’t know what this machine is called… the reverse squat?  Anyway…normally I thought could only do two 45 pound plates (one on each side).  Today we did three sets of 10 reps with four 45 pound plates (two on each side).  And then we did some other crazy leg exercises.  Every single rep burned.  I was making all these funny looking faces when I did my reps cause it hurt so much.  I don’t think I’ll be able to walk tomorrow.  So I guess it was a great workout then.  I’ll judge it by how sore I feel on the 3rd day.


     


    We also did measurements at the gym today.  I gained 4 pounds in the last month.  I went from 121 to 125.  Had a body fat percentage decrease of 0.03%.  I'm actually not worried about the weight gain at all.  Because I feel stronger and I feel leaner.  So I had mostly lean muscle gain.  But I think it could be off by maybe a pound or so since last time I was weighed in the morning before eating or drinking anything.  AND the clothes I’m wearing could be different.  So maybe around 3 pound increase.  I need to get myself a scale at home so I can get my weight at the same time every day and without clothes.


     


    Anyway, so I was going over with my trainer how much I’ve been eating and how much calories I’ve been burning according to the bodybugg he put me on.  The bodybugg is a little arm device that I wear 24/7 that give me a pretty close idea how much energy I expend every day… even when I’m sleeping.  So I burn roughly 2400 calories on active days and around 1950 on non-active days.  I’ve been eating an average of 1550 calories a day.  So according to my trainer, if I want to build mass, it’s not enough.  Need to eat 200 – 300 ‘above’ what I burn.  That’s 2700 calories on my workout days!!  That’s a lot.  At first I didn’t quite believe him, so I looked it up.  And it’s true…I do have to eat closer to what he is saying if I want to gain muscle.   But I guess if done right, I should be gaining more lean mass and minimal fat.  Oh, and if I shouldn’t be having a calorie deficit, I probably need to cut my cardio down to 30 minutes for now.  I still want to do a little cardio every day just because I feel good after I do it.  Okay, so I guess that’s the game plan eat more, but clean stuff.  The hardest part is eating enough protein everyday; 124 grams.  So I’m drinking most of it.  And Trainer promises me after we build mass we’ll focus on losing fat.  Okay, this whole building muscle thing is very scientific.


     


    Aside from weight training (which has taken up most of my energy), everything else is good… just work.  Birthday is coming up fast.  Want a new palm pilot.  Told Irvine Boy that but he’s very mysterious in what I’m getting.  So we’ll see.  Very exciting!  Can’t wait!


     


    Okay, I’m officially pooped.  Gotta go sleep so my muscle can GROW!


     


    Not sure if this picture is clear…. But I wanna look like that:


     


     


    2344


     


     


     

Comments (15)

  • i dont know how you work out so early in the morning.

  • I'd like to look like that picture too!  And I can only imagine how working out could help with stress...I think I might start doing that.  Have a great day!

    Suzanne

  • you should take a picture of yourself everyday to mark your progression!

  • i'm just generally impressed at how dedicated you are at this...i went to my hiphop class on saturday and yoga class last night...not even lifting any or squatting anything yet...and i'm already pooped. i'm a weakling :p

  • wow, you are gaining muscle...I've heard about the bodybug, do you feel like it really helps?  I just didn't feel like wearing something on my arm all day long. 

    good luck!!!  I'm sure you are doing great.   I think I am pretty much the same but these past weeks I haven't really pumped it up like you:)  You can look like the magazine cover, I belive in you!!!

    btw, 2700 calories is ALOT, think of the possibilities!

  • wow... that's a little too much muscle for my liking :)

    i still like a lil' more dainty-ness ( i don't think i spelled that right) :)

  • RYC: Yeah, I am putting that on my belly, but I don't think that's what's prevented me from getting stretch marks. I think I have to thank my mom's good genes! Stretch marks and whether you get them are genetic (at least when it comes to pregnancy) -- if your mom was prone to them, you might be too. The cocoa butter, vitamin E, lotions only serve to treat the symptoms of a pregnant belly -- itchiness from expansion! But they won't prevent or help with stretch marks. I'm thankful to have escaped them so far -- lord knows, I haven't escaped acne, ever, so I was due for some good skin karma!

    Wow, that is one muscular chick -- I'm not for the twiggy look, either, but I think that is a bit more muscular than I'd want to look -- I just want the faint definition of abs and triceps. :) Still, I am so in awe of your dedication!

  • Love is strong yet delicate.
    It can be broken.
    To truly love is to understand this.
    To be in love is to respect this.

    - Stephen Packer –

  • hey, did u try better n' peanut butter from Trader Joes? Does it taste good enough? I am considering it after I'm done with my current jar.

    have a good weekend:)

  • Better?  What way is exactly better?  If you ask 10 trainers I bet you probably get 10 different answers.  Most trainers will give you advice that closely follows and aligns with their own routines.  It is very rare to find a trainer or should I say a trainer within a health club that has the experience, training, and knowledge to actually look at the whole picture and pay attention to your own needs and custom tailor a routine to exactly what you need.  In my personal opinion if you’re at an intermediate level of fitness to forego most of the health club trainers.  Most of them are there to bring in the money for the club.
     
    To me it sounds like you’re training with someone that is using some bodybuilding techniques.  If you want to lose fat, set your protein intake at a level that's adequate to preserve muscle, get around 25-30% of your calories from fat, and then adjust your carbohydrate intake according to how active you are.  In my opinion, an optimal fat-burning exercise program will include some form of cardiovascular exercise. The most essential part of your program is that your diet is set up correctly.  But, if you only have a limited amount of time to spend in the gym, resistance exercise will do a far better job of preserving lean muscle and boosting your metabolic rate than your cardiovascular workout.

  • wow she's got nice abs!

  • aww girls shouldn't have six packs, they should just have that toned look. Pilates aren't made for guys, went with a friend, they want to use the ropes between the legs... big negative for me

  • Wow, you are so dedicated. I'll be happy if I can take my lazy ass to the gym at least 2x a week. I'm sure you'll look like that in no time :)

  • hi hi bebe~ muharharhar happy belated bday! it was good to finally see ya! even though our grls night didnt go through! but for sure i'll call you even if its last minute, cause we dont care anymore! ahahhahahah ;p

  • i dont like those legs tho.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment