March 7, 2005

  • A Simple Pleasure from yesterday:


     


    When I see old people on the streets still holding hands after all those years.


     


    Irvine Boy had received 2 tickets to Miss Saigon from his housemate, Julie, for his birthday the previous weekend.  Really nice gift.  We went and had a great time yesterday.  After the performance, as we were walking out and back to our car, I was watching this old, old couple in front of us.  They must have been 70+, old, and grey, very healthy looking.  They strolled down the sidewalk still chatting about the show, laughing, looked into each other’s faces, and when I looked furthur down a bit, I saw their fingers were entwined with each other’s.  I had to smile when I saw that.  It made me wonder, what did they do right so they’ve made it here today, walking down the street still holding hands?  What’s the secret?  It looked so simple.  Just holding hands right?  But how often do you see what I saw?

Comments (10)

  • grr… I wanted to see Miss Saigon really bad… but I guess I missed the tour by a year or two (when it was last in Cali)…

    Old couples when you see them together, tends to be closer ‘cuz they are at the twilight of their lives and those who stay together went through a lot and cherish the limited time they have left together. Seeing 40-50 yr olds holding hands on the street, now that’s rare…

  • i love seeing old couples happy together… esp. at mcdonald’s…

  • I remember seeing them…they were really healthy too!  Did you notice how fast they were walking?  We barely kept up with them.

  • I don’t see it often.

    But I wonder the same thing.

  • Maybe they were out cheating on their spouses =P LMAO! Hey you never know.

  • crazy tipy’s comment… classic :)

  • i often wonder if i’ll ever be able to experience that…

  • my parents do that, and it’s soo annoying . . . i want to smack them. =P

  • I saw Miss Saigon, but the male lead couldn’t really sing that well that night.  I can see you and Irvine Boy being like that when you’re old :)   Hey, are you going to Charlie’s B-day thingy?

    ryc: It’s a yoga/pilates body.  I can tell from the way she’s so flexible and twists around.  Sigh.  I really need to make it to class more often.

  • Gosh, there is so much useful data above! site web link. Really effective data, thanks for this article. LINK 8 site. What exactly you’re writing is a horrible mistake. 2 here 8. Thanks for this article, really worthwhile material.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *