End of the week already!
What a week! It’s Friday already. I keep thinking I’m going to post, I’m going to post… and I somehow just never get to it. There’s too much to do and too little time… Sounds all too familiar doesn’t it? Bleh.
I’m still going to the gym. As a matter or fact, I just went today and did lower body workout. Errr…. Yesterday? Okay, whatever… I went Thursday. I did some squats with the smith machine, did lunges, and deadlifts. Glutes and hamstring are done! It was a pretty good workout. I sweat like a mad-woman these days doing 50 minutes of weight training.
I’ve also decided to really try and focus on gaining muscle mass. So I’m going to take this seriously and try to eat more. Scary thought. But what the heck I’m going to give it a shot. People who train and body build have been telling me that I need to eat 200 to 300 more than what I burn every day in order to gain muscle. I’m currently at a deficit of 500 to 700 per day. So, from what I hear, there’s no way to gain the mass that I’m looking for if I keep staying in the deficit zone? AND I’ve decided to listen and cut back on cardio also to not more than 30 minutes of treadmill, instead of an hour. I’ll probably add in a few extra ‘short’ walks a day so I can get some low intensity cardio in just to stay active. I’m still want to do the 30 minute jog just because it feels great to get the heart pumping and keep the respiratory system up there.
Okay, enough of workout talk.
Went to Trader Joe’s today and stocked up on goodies. I got some rosemary chicken with wild rice pilaf (again). Also found a new low cal pasta. I have it in the fridge at work, so I’ll get the right name once I see it and post it. They had it at the tasting stand today and it was SO good. It had something like 210 calories per serving. Yummy. I also stocked up on my fage. I think I still like my fage with honey the best. With 13g of protein per serving and only 80 calories, I can have that for a snack a couple times a day. I’m trying to eat 2300-2500 calories a day. I noticed it’s actually kind of hard if I try to eat really clean. In the past few weeks, by the time I reach 1600 calories a day, I feel like I’ve pretty much eaten something every 2 hours and I just don’t feel hungry.
Irvine Boy came over tonight and took me to sushi. We ordered 2 different rolls, an order of yellowtail sashimi, 2 orders of masago sushi, and a large Asahi beer. Yum yum! Sushi is my favorite thing right now. I think I want to eat sushi every other day. Can one ever get tired of Japanese food?
Oh, another exciting thing…. (well for me it’s exciting), is that I finally learned to like oatmeal! Yay! I used to hate oatmeal. I thought it looks and tastes like poo-poo. Blech! But now I’m actually really enjoying it. And when I get hungry at night before bed I’ll make myself a package of instant oatmeal and then add in 2 tablespoons of flaxseed meal. So the whole thing has like 10g of fiber which is excellent for the digestive track and helps in staying full longer. Mmm… endless possibilities with food. I love it. And some people may think this whole counting calorie thing is ridiculous and troublesome, but I actually think it’s fun. I keep telling people it’s like I have a daily account to spend (on food), and I just have to figure out where to use it. And please get it straight, I’m trying to count calories to eat MORE and know that I’m eating enough, not to eat less.
Okay, it’s really time for bed now. Will try to update tomorrow and post what the new pasta dish is I found at Trader Joe’s.
For now, a random pic of Irvine Boy and I from 2005 Thanksgiving…


































Recent Comments